We make one of these products
FlightKit is ours, so read this as a first-party comparison rather than a neutral review. We have tried to earn your trust the only way that works here: every claim about another product was read off that company’s own website on 8 September 2026 and links straight back to it, we say plainly where each competitor is better than us, and we list what FlightKit does not do. Prices change — if you find one of these out of date, the vendor’s page wins, not ours.
The Short Answer
Checkride.bot. A one-time 30-day pass covers the window you actually need, and it spans more certificates than anything else here.
Visit their siteMockDPE. It is instrument-only, and it builds scenarios from live weather at real airports, which is how that oral is actually run.
Visit their siteCheckrideReady. Premium removes the session cap, and text mode covers the times you cannot speak out loud.
Visit their siteFlightKit. The examiner sits alongside weather, weight and balance, go/no-go, charts and a currency-tracking logbook, so it is still useful the day after you pass.
Open the AI examinerSeven of the nine let you try before paying — the exceptions are Gleim, which states no trial, and Sporty’s, whose examiner only comes with the course. Spend twenty minutes in two of them first — the difference between an examiner that pushes back and one that accepts anything is obvious within one Area of Operation, and no table can show it to you.
The Comparison
| Tool | Price | Ratings | Format | Free | Runs on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FlightKit | Free tier · $19.99/mo · $159/yr (Pro) removes the cap | Private, Instrument | Voice | 15 AI messages + 20 quiz questions daily | Web + iOS |
| Sporty’s ChatDPE℠ | No separate price — bundled into the $299 Learn to Fly Course (one-time, lifetime updates) | Private, as part of the course | Not stated | None on its own — it comes with the course | Web and the Sporty’s Pilot Training app |
| Gleim DPE | $124.95 one-time, 12 months of access | Private only — their page says so explicitly | Not stated | None stated for the examiner | Not stated |
| HeyDPE | $39/mo · $299/yr | Private, Commercial, Instrument | Voice + text | 7-day trial, 3 exams, no card | Not stated |
| Checkride.bot | $49.99 PPL · $59.99 CPL · $79.99 CFI (one-time 30-day pass) | 24 exams, Sport through CFI | Voice only | Area I of any exam | iOS 18+ |
| CheckrideReady | No longer published — the site now shows only “$0 To Get Started” | Private, Commercial, Instrument | Voice + text | Free to start; trial length no longer stated | Web |
| MockDPE | $29/mo · $249/yr | Instrument only | Voice | One limited session, no card | Web |
| ChatDPE | Not published on the site | Private, Instrument, Commercial | Voice | Starts with no account | Not stated |
| check-ride.ai | Session credits, amounts not published | Private (more on their roadmap) | Voice | First session, no card | Not stated |
Read off each vendor’s site on 8 September 2026. Three of the nine — ChatDPE, check-ride.ai and now CheckrideReady — do not publish prices publicly, which is itself worth knowing before you invest time in a trial. CheckrideReady did in August 2026; we have left the old figures in its row so you can see what moved.
What Actually Matters in One of These
A real oral is spoken, under mild pressure, with a person waiting on your answer. Typing into a chat box trains recall but not delivery — and delivery is what fails people. Nearly every tool here is voice-first now; if one is not, that is a meaningful gap.
The Airman Certification Standards are the actual scope of your checkride. A tool that tracks which Areas of Operation you have covered tells you when to stop studying. One that free-associates aviation questions never does.
The single most useful behavior is the follow-up. A DPE who hears something half-right digs in. If the AI accepts anything approximately correct and moves on, it is quizzing you, not examining you.
A 30-day pass or a single-rating subscription is dead weight once you pass. Worth asking whether you are buying a cram tool for one month or something you keep flying with.
None of these is a substitute for your CFI. An AI examiner is repetition on demand — the systems section at eleven at night, six times, with nobody to book. Use it so your real mock oral is spent on judgment rather than definitions. The oral exam question guide covers what the DPE is actually listening for.
Tool by Tool
FlightKit
Free tier · $19.99/mo · $159/yr (Pro) removes the capBest at: The examiner runs on the free tier rather than behind a paywall, and it sits alongside the rest of the flight bag on one bill — weather, W&B, go/no-go, charts, logbook and currency, ACS ground school.
Where it stops: Two certificates today, not the full Sport-through-CFI ladder. If you are prepping a CFI or ATP oral, a dedicated tool covers your rating and we do not.
Sporty’s ChatDPE℠
No separate price — bundled into the $299 Learn to Fly Course (one-time, lifetime updates)Best at: It is free inside a course an enormous number of students already own, from the most established name in the category. If you have bought the Learn to Fly Course, you already have an AI examiner and should use it before paying anyone else.
Where it stops: You cannot buy it by itself, and it rides along with the private pilot course rather than covering the certificate ladder. Sporty’s does not state whether you speak your answers or type them, which for oral practice is the thing you most want to know.
Gleim DPE
$124.95 one-time, 12 months of accessBest at: A long-established test-prep publisher’s take on the format, sold outright rather than as a subscription, with a year of access rather than a 30-day cram window.
Where it stops: Private pilot only, and their own page rules out multi-engine and seaplane training. At $124.95 it is the most expensive single-rating option here, and the product page states neither the interaction mode nor the platform.
HeyDPE
$39/mo · $299/yrBest at: The trial is the most generous on this list — three full exams over seven days without handing over a card. It cites the ACS document behind each rating and is explicitly voice-first with typing as a fallback.
Where it stops: At $299 a year it is priced like a whole flight bag while doing one job, and it does not say what it runs on.
Checkride.bot
$49.99 PPL · $59.99 CPL · $79.99 CFI (one-time 30-day pass)Best at: Breadth of ratings, and a one-time purchase rather than a subscription — you buy the 30 days around your checkride and you are done.
Where it stops: iPhone and iPad only, and the pass expires after 30 days. Each additional rating is another purchase (20% off after the first).
CheckrideReady
No longer published — the site now shows only “$0 To Get Started”Best at: Breadth of certificates on the web, with text mode for when you cannot talk out loud, and an instructor portal that links students to a CFI.
Where it stops: In August 2026 this page listed $19.99 to $39.99 a month here, read off their own site. Those figures are gone: pricing has moved behind a sign-in, so we can no longer tell you what it costs before you create an account.
MockDPE
$29/mo · $249/yrBest at: Instrument depth. It builds scenarios off live METAR and TAF data for real airports, which is exactly how an IFR oral actually runs.
Where it stops: One rating. Useful the month before your instrument ride and irrelevant before and after it.
ChatDPE
Not published on the siteBest at: Lowest friction to try — you can start a session without signing up for anything.
Where it stops: Neither pricing nor supported platforms are stated publicly, so you cannot compare cost until you are inside the product.
check-ride.ai
Session credits, amounts not publishedBest at: Pay-per-session rather than a subscription, plus configurable mission profiles — airport, aircraft, weather, and DPE personality.
Where it stops: One rating today, and the credit price is not published, so budgeting means signing up first.
Run a mock oral tonight, free
FlightKit’s examiner speaks, listens, follows up when an answer is thin, and grades every response — strong answer, needs more detail, or correction needed — with a friendly, standard or strict DPE to match the pressure you want. Free to start, no card.
Keep learning
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best app to prepare for the private pilot checkride oral exam?
Start by checking whether you already own one. Sporty’s bundles ChatDPE℠, its virtual examiner, into the $299 Learn to Fly Course at no extra cost — if you bought that course, use it before paying anyone else. Beyond that it depends on whether you want a cram tool or something you keep. For breadth of certificates, Checkride.bot covers 24 exams from Sport through CFI on iOS as a one-time 30-day pass. Gleim sells its Digital Pilot Examiner outright at $124.95 for 12 months, private pilot only. HeyDPE is $39 a month or $299 a year and gives you three full exams free first. FlightKit — which our team builds — runs its voice examiner on the free tier at 15 AI messages a day and lifts the cap on the $19.99-a-month Pro plan ($159 a year), which also carries the weather, weight and balance, go/no-go and logbook tools you use the rest of the time. Seven of the nine let you try before paying, so use two of them before you commit.
Is there an AI app that simulates a DPE checkride oral exam?
Several, and they are genuinely conversational rather than multiple-choice. Checkride.bot, ChatDPE, MockDPE, CheckrideReady, check-ride.ai, HeyDPE and FlightKit all run a spoken mock oral with an AI examiner that asks follow-up questions and grades your answers against the ACS. Two established publishers now do it too: Sporty’s includes ChatDPE℠ in its Learn to Fly Course, and Gleim sells a Digital Pilot Examiner — though neither states publicly whether you speak your answers or type them. They differ mostly in which certificates they cover, whether you subscribe or buy a pass, and whether the tool does anything else once your checkride is over.
Can an AI examiner replace mock orals with a CFI?
No, and no honest vendor here claims it does. Your instructor knows your weak areas, signs your 8710, and has flown with you. What an AI examiner adds is repetition — you can run the systems section six times at eleven at night without booking anyone. Use it to arrive at your CFI mock oral already fluent, so that hour is spent on judgment rather than definitions.
How much do AI checkride prep apps cost?
As of 8 September 2026: Checkride.bot sells one-time 30-day passes from $29.99 (Sport, Part 107) to $79.99 (CFI), with the private pilot pass at $49.99. Gleim DPE is $124.95 once, for 12 months of access, private pilot only. HeyDPE is $39 a month or $299 a year. MockDPE is $29 a month or $249 a year for the instrument rating. Sporty’s does not sell ChatDPE℠ separately — it is bundled into the $299 Learn to Fly Course, a one-time purchase. FlightKit meters its examiner on a free tier at 15 AI messages a day and removes the cap on Pro, $19.99 a month or $159 a year. ChatDPE, check-ride.ai and now CheckrideReady do not publish prices on their sites — CheckrideReady listed $19.99 to $39.99 a month here in August 2026, but has since moved pricing behind a sign-in.
Are these tools accurate on FAA regulations?
Treat every AI answer as a prompt to check the source, not as the source. The good ones cite the regulation or ACS task behind a correction so you can verify it in the FAR/AIM yourself. If a tool tells you something that contradicts your instructor or the regulation, the regulation wins — and that habit of checking is itself good checkride preparation.
Do any of them cover the instrument rating oral?
Yes. MockDPE is instrument-only and builds its scenarios from live METAR and TAF data for real airports. CheckrideReady, ChatDPE, HeyDPE and FlightKit all cover the instrument oral alongside the private. Checkride.bot sells an instrument pass at $49.99 and a CFII pass at $69.99. The two publisher tools do not help you here: Gleim DPE is private pilot only, and Sporty’s ChatDPE℠ comes with the private pilot Learn to Fly Course.
Is a free AI oral exam practice session worth using?
Yes, and it is the fastest way to choose. Checkride.bot gives you all of Area I free, MockDPE and check-ride.ai each give you one full session without a card, HeyDPE gives three exams over seven days with no card, ChatDPE starts without an account, CheckrideReady is free to start, and FlightKit gives 15 AI messages and 20 quiz questions a day on the free tier. The two exceptions are Gleim, which states no free trial for its examiner, and Sporty’s, whose ChatDPE℠ only comes with the course. Twenty minutes in two of them will tell you more than any comparison table, including this one.
